Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Safety in Meditation

edited January 2011 in Meditation
Hello, Are there any safety concerns I should be worried about when taking up meditation?

I started learning and practicing zen meditation in 1986, but from the very start started to suffer from a side effect. I have a fantastic calming experience during meditation, but the next day I start to feel agitated, my anger goes up, I get rapid heart beat, sweaty palms. This tends to get progressively bad if I continue to meditate.

So what happens is that I try to meditate then after the side effects I go in hibernation for months or even years, then take up meditation again. I have been to Zen monasteries in the US, sought out answeres, was just told to work through the issue. Nothing helped. This problem is 25 years in the making.

I haven't read anything about safety in meditation, other than one snippet of quote by Alan Watts, who spoke of 'too strong a current for the wire'

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• I've read that some people can experience dissociative episodes due to meditation (in fact one of our members wrote awhile back that she dissociates sometimes during the day, after taking up meditation). Some people are more psychologically vulnerable in different ways, and simply shouldn't meditate, that's what I've read. Meditation seems to be causing anxiety symptoms for you. So you should probably stop meditating. You can still practice other aspects of the dharma, however.
  • zenffzenff Veteran
    edited January 2011