Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I had a sensation of floating whem I meditated!

edited January 2011 in Meditation
I am a meditation novice, however after a warm bath, I laid down to meditate (I have a condition that prevents me from meditating in a sitting position), and after about 5 minutes I fell asleep. Didn't mean to, but it's Friday, what can I say?! However, when I woke up, I had this very pleasant feeling of floating. it was as if my mind and head were there, but i didn't have a body at all. Can anyone please explain why this might happen? Thanks :)

Comments

• Don't worry about explaining it. Sleep is not the same as meditation, which is why closing the eyes is not recommended. Sleep is fine for what it is, but it's not meditation. It sounds to me like you were just very relaxed when you woke up.

Try sitting in a chair and keeping your eyes open to meditate if you can't sit in a more traditional position. Lying down facilitates napping, which isn't the point of the exercise.

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    yes, it's very common, don't let it bother you or distract you.
    It happens to me a lot. Apparently a medical/scientific explanation is that through extreme relaxation, your brain is at a different relaxation level to your body. Hence you feel a bit 'disjointed'. It soon passes.

You feel back to normal, right now, don't you?
    See? I told you it passes!
  • I usually associate that feeling with the 'laughing gas' at a dentist office.
  • Fascinating, Federica.