Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is Euthanasia allowed in buddhism?

2»

Comments

• bushinokibushinoki Veteran
    edited November 2008
    How about we distinguish between whether or not someone has a chance. Don't keep me alive the little bit longer being hooked to machines will give me, when I'm going to die anyway. There is a world of difference between pulling the plug on someone who is alive solely by machine alone, and pulling the plug on someone who has a chance of some sort of real life.
  • edited November 2008
    Many decades ago, when I was a veterinary nurse, our decisions were based on quality of life, not just preserving life for the sake of it.

In many cases we could have kept a pet hanging on for a few more months but to be perfectly honest, with a quality of life that would have been worthless both for the animal and the owners - in these cases we always advised euthanasia (incidentally losing money for ourselves - cost of a lethal shot against months of expensive treatment).

I remember having a conversation with the vet for whom I worked and he said - I hope by the time I get to that age, we will have got enlightened enough to treat our fellow man as well as we treat our animals and that I will be able to choose the time of my going, peacefully, in dignity and with my family around me.

I can find no fault with that.
  • PalzangPalzang Veteran
    edited November 2008