Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

So a buddha walks into a bar...

edited February 2011 in Buddhism Basics
Hello Newbuddhist.com,

I'm new to the forums, and new to meditative/Buddhist practices in general. More than that, I'm new to the "real world" in the sense that I'm nearly fresh out of college and traveling four days a week for work. The major difference between society's reality, and a buddhist's reality, I've come to learn, is that the former is incredibly stressful. Or at least it was before I became serious about meditation and mindfulness practices. The stress and constant chest tightness were the catalysts.

I took up a little sittin' and watchin' the old noggin, and now I'm doing better than ever. While I haven't officially adopted Buddhism, I've taken up all the reading I can, and have been trying to live in-line with the precepts - with mixed results. My biggest hang-up is that my personality is very jocular, witty, and bantering. Not in a cold way either, as I never poke fun at anyone unless I have sufficient rapport with them, so they know not to take it to heart. I have a lot of fun with this, and I think people around me do to. Overall, I'm a pretty easy going, non-serious guy, who simply took life a bit too serious after graduation.