Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Different types of Meditation?

edited February 2011 in Meditation
I've been meditating now for 8 months. I simply focus on my breath and when I realize I'm following my thoughts around I go back to my breath immediately. Upon stumbling around I see many people are talking about specific meditations with names I can hardly pronounce. But what is there more to meditation than simply focusing on breath? I know I'm not doing it wrong, but at times I wonder if I am doing it ineffectively. I never repeat mantras or what not in my head, and I never think on an image and hold it. I simply focus on my breath, the sound of my breath, and I keep doing this over and over while thoughts are popping into my head. What else is there to do??

Comments

• You can focus on the breath, or you can focus on a teaching, or you can simply be mindful of what is. All are good techniques.