Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How do I deal with laziness?

ravkesravkes Veteran
edited February 2011 in General Banter
I feel like my biggest vice is laziness which leads me to general apathy/depression/gambling.

This habit I chose to cultivate almost 4 years ago has led me down a disastrous path, but I'm happy I've realized it at a young age (21) so I can make some changes before it fully takes control of me. I was a very smart student in high school and then laziness hit. I was fortunate to get into a good college but I stopped caring about schoolwork when I started, I stopped studying and consequently I became comfortable with making stupid decisions. Because of my laziness I wasn't interested in learning some skills that would be valuable in the job market and now I'm a college senior with a 1.93 GPA (I had a 3.5 GPA in high school) with minimal prospects. Unfortunately, gambling was an offshoot of my laziness since I wanted money I didn't have to work for. I had to lose over $4,000 to realize that money doesn't come easy.

Currently, I have an exam this Wednesday and I want to do well on it. However, whenever I approach studying I have lingering thoughts: "I don't need to study, even if I study I won't do well because I'm not smart, studying and work is boring, I hate work, I hate studying, I'd rather play poker" .. on and on

So here I am, taking small steps towards digging myself out of a hole of now what I can see are the beginning stages of apathy, depression and a dangerous gambling habit.

Any advice would be appreciated on dealing with the root cause that I can identify as laziness. Thank you!

:)