Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The Nuclear Option

zidanguszidangus Veteran
edited March 2011 in General Banter
Well following the developments in Japan at the Fukushima-Daiichi nuclear power plant, I was just wondering what peoples views are on nuclear power. I am a high-energy experimental nuclear physicist so it is kind of in my area, although I am not really an expert on nuclear power as I am involved in probing nuclear structure at the extremes (proton drip line in my case). Of course I understand the physics behind nuclear fission, and the pro's and con's of it.

In my opinion the new third generation of nuclear reactors are a lot better option than conventional fossil fuels, and the fourth generation nuclear reactors that could be built in the future have some advanced design concepts which include high temperature reactors that are 2-3 times more efficient than contemporary reactors, mechanically simpler machines with fewer moving parts for improved reliability, and can have nuclear plants that would process their own waste ( a big problem for current nuclear plants).

So for me it would be a shame if Governments decided to go cold on the idea of investing in nuclear energy, because of the events which are unfolding in Japan, I should add that the Fukushima-Daiichi nuclear power plant where the problems are occurring is an old plant (1970's) first generation plant, which was due to be shut down this year.

Metta to all sentient beings

Comments

• The only reason the nuclear option is triggered at all is that we have developed an immense need for power.