Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The Ethical Way to Deal With a Liar

edited February 2006 in Sanghas
Hello everyone! Nice to meet you. First let me say that I love the forums here and have greatly enjoyed reading them. Since I am very new to Buddhism, I have mostly just browsed, pondered, and taken in new information and wisdom. So far, it's been very helpful to me!

I am hoping for some insights into the ethical way to deal with a situation that has cropped up in my life recently, from a Buddhist point of view, as well as your own personal viewpoints.

Recently, I learned that someone I know (let's say Person A) is deceiving someone else I know (Person B). However, it's more complicated than that. First off, I'm not 100% certain. I have the information second-hand. But the second-hand person (a third party) has no reason to lie in this instance. Furthermore, this kind of deception has been practiced by Person A at least several times in the past. Secondly, I previously dated both Person A and Person B--and now A and B are dating each other. So I personally care about both of them and their well-being. But I could always be misconstrued as trying to win back Person B with this information. (I am happily in another relationship now, and would not wish to do that.)

My dilemma--if you could follow all that! :o --is this: Do I:

1) Go to Person B and say "I believe Person A is deceiving you in such-and-such a manner"? If I do, the person may not believe me, or it may be perceived as hostile or catty on my part. Furthermore, whether I am right or wrong, I could cause a great deal of pain for both A and B.