Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism and Predestination

NewOneNewOne Explorer
edited May 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Ok since I'm still new at this. Does it say anywhere that there is predestination or we are meant for something. I know that Predestination is a Christian term, but I was just wondering if it has any holding in Buddhism.

Comments

• JasonJason God Emperor Arrakis Moderator
    edited May 2010
    No.
  • DhammaDhatuDhammaDhatu Veteran
    edited May 2010
    A river by nature has a predestination to flow to the sea.

In the same way, the mind by nature has a predestination to flow to Nirvana.

Sometimes, man made dams may stop a river flowing to the sea.

In the same way, the mind's grasping & clinging blocks it from flowing to Nibbana.
    Once the Buddha was sitting under a tree on the bank of the river Ganges near the city of Kosambi. Five hundred bhikkhus accompanied him. The Lord Buddha saw a very big log being carried down the river by the current.

He pointed to the log and said, "Oh Bhikkhus, do you see that big log which is being carried along by the current of the river?" The Bhikkhus replied, Yes Venerable Sir, we see it."

The Lord Buddha continued,
    • If that log is not caught on the near bank, it will reach the ocean.
    • If it is not caught on the far bank, it will reach the ocean.
    • If it is not submerged under the water, it will reach the ocean.
    • If it does not land on a small island in the middle of the river, it will reach the ocean.
    • If it is not taken away by a human being, it will reach the ocean.