Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Agnostic Question About Buddhism

edited September 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Can we still be called a true Buddhist if we have agnostic beliefs? I hope not to offend anyone by asking. I'm fairly new to Buddhism. In detail the question asks if you can be a true follower of Buddha while having agnostic beliefs/

Thanks for replies in advance. :)

Comments

• ValtielValtiel Veteran
    edited August 2010
    Why do you think it might conflict?
  • edited August 2010
    the term "true Buddhist".
  • edited August 2010
    What is a 'true Buddhist'? What value or set of values do you hold up to compare a less-than-true Buddhist to?

Also - if you take the quite strong version of agnosticism about doubting everything; well, it's a starting point because practicing any of the Buddhist paths involves carefully investigating and assessing the teachings based on your own experience. So, an agnostic Buddhist would merely be a person whom has yet to reach any conclusions or insightful understanding of what they are trying to learn!