Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Forgiveness in Buddhism

VagabondVagabond Explorer
edited May 2011 in Buddhism Basics
Yesterday, I forgave someone for something that had happened a little over a year ago. I will not say any names nor will I even tell the story, but I will let you know that it was really something for me to do. Probably the biggest act of forgiveness I have done in my life. I probably would have never forgave this person if it wasn't for me thinking "What would Buddha do?", not knowing any stories about him on this matter however. This is because I am still new to Buddhism, coming and going between learning about it, and moving on with everyday life, kind of "forgetting" about Buddhism and how much I truly am interested in it and eager to learn more. So either way, I forgave this person because I wanted to be a better person in life (after thinking of Buddhism) and because I forgave this person, I found myself coming back into the groove of learning and finding out more about this way of life.

Now I want to ask: What DID Buddha say about forgiveness? And what do YOU think? I found this article online and found it very interesting and thought I might as well share it: http://www.youaretrulyloved.com/enlightenment/the-buddha-teaches-a-lesson-on-forgiveness/