Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Facing forgiveness

ClayTheScribeClayTheScribe Veteran
edited July 2011 in Buddhism Basics
So I'm pretty new to Buddhism, but I'm dealing with a situation and I'm not quite sure how to face it. I've always been pretty good at forgiving, but I want to forgive people faster. A friend from high school is getting married this weekend and because I couldn't afford the tux rental, he said he'd pay it for me. I called him to tell him where to call to make the last payment. He calls me back and said the guy on the phone was rude to him. Then says "He sounded black." I just let it go and said "OK." Then he said, "I work in Aurora now so I have to deal with them all the time." I'm half black, half white. I live in Aurora. The city has a large black population. At first I was just shocked so I didn't say anything and ended the call. But then a few hours later, I felt myself feeling really offended and angry. Now the compassionate part of me immediately said "OK, he was angry and he's probably really stressed out about the wedding." But then I thought back to how he's said racist things in the past and I just let it go. I'm not super close to this friend as I was in high school. So I feel still angry. I don't want him as a friend anymore, not just because of what he said, but because we don't have that much in common anymore and I don't even think his fiance likes me. But how can I move past my anger and forgive him, at least in my heart? And should I still try to pursue a friendship with him or is it ethical for me to just stop talking to him and hanging out with him after the wedding?