Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

A question about the 'Dangers of Meditation'

ShyShy
edited November 2011 in Buddhism Basics
I am new to this stie but hope someone may be able to provide some insight into something I don't understand. I am an American in China - an English teacher at a small university - there are no other Buddhists here on campus or anywhere else I am familar with so I am unable to ask anyone here. I became a Buddhist in the Mahayana tradition on July 25th , 2011 and entered China on Sept 2nd, 2011. My expereince with meditation began on June 22, 2011. Prior to arriving here - I had an expereince in meditation which I have seen described on the internet as "dangerous". That is: not being able to speak after a mediation session - was described on more than one website as a "danger". I am not sure why this is/was, or even why this occured - or what this may mean if anything. I am a little concenred about practicing mediation with no teacher after reading that this expereince is "dangerous". Does anyone have any feedback, information, input, advice or thoughts on this matter? Any response to this question would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.

Shy Tsering Choedan

Comments

• Dangerous? The only thing "dangerous" about meditation is an increased risk of hemorrhoids due to prolonged sitting on a hard surface, believe it or not. It's not often talked about, but a common ailment of older monks.