Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Practical world problem - how to handle it?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited December 2011 in Buddhism Basics
Hi All,
A practical situation which i am facing almost every day these days. the area where we work, we go out of our office for lunch and tea. now on the street, there is a lady beggar who carries her little baby on her shoulders and she beg on the street. Now initially nearly 2 weeks back (when i started studying Buddha's teachings), then out of helping her, i gave her some money. the next day she was again there begging, so i again gave her some money, this i continued for 3 to 4 days, then i realized this shall continue forever, as the lady beggar will never want to work to earn her living. Then nearly 3 days back, when that lady beggar came to me - i asked her - why do not work instead of begging? she did not said anything, i did not give her any money. Then 2 days back, she again was begging and she came in front of me and again begged, then i again asked the same question - why do you not work instead of begging? - then she replied immediately - what work can i do? - then i suggested her there are so many shops here, you can ask for some work from some shop-owner in their shop - then she did not said anything - then again i did not give her any money. Then yesterday i again saw her begging on street.