Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How does one practice walking meditation?

edited September 2012 in Meditation
I just recently joined a sangha in my community and we are having our first meditation next week. They are talking about doing some walking meditation which sounds wonderful. The problem is, I've never tried walking meditation before.

Can anyone help a new student out and explain this process?

Comments

• MaryAnneMaryAnne Veteran
    edited September 2012

My own personal walking meditation plan went like this: Just Walk.
    Walk and be open to whatever you notice, whatever you see. Don't worry about what you don't notice or see. Don't set out 'seeking' anything, or any view in particular.
    Whatever thoughts come into your mind as you see something, note it, let it go.
    No need to dwell. Afterward, ask yourself if any particular thought or emotion was triggered or stood out for further consideration.

I'm not saying this is "the" way to do a walking meditation... because I don't know how mediation teachers teach it, I've never been to one for instruction .... this is just my way. :)

Edited to add: Hey Jennynicole- Please let us know how your group walking meditation went! :) I'm curious to know how far off the mark I was/am in my own practice.
    mfranzdorf
  • At our sangha, we walk around the room first very slowly, clockwise.