Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Your thoughts on college.

LostLightLostLight Veteran
edited September 2012 in General Banter
I've thought for the longest time that kids who dropped out of college were just lazy and couldn't handle responsibility; that thought is no more. I'm seeing more and more how useless so much of this college business is. People having to pay for classes they'll NEVER use as a preliminary to get into yet another useless class. Most of the time only a handful of the classes actually mean something. It seems like college is merely a way to keep the economy going now. Even as an A student myself, being able to see all this disgusts me. I have a duty to pay my parents back, and to have a career that offers me a way to pay for necessities and extend it onto others who are less fortunate. The thing that has kept me going was the thought that this money could seriously help fund support for people in the world who need it, but such tediousness has further disheartened me. I'm sort of at a standstill of what I should do with my life. I'm from America, so I don't know what the other College systems are like. In general, I'm wondering
What do you think about modern day college?

Comments

• BunksBunks Australia Veteran
    I guess it depends what kind of work you want to do @LostLight. I assume you need a college degree to get into certain professions?

I dropped out of college (university in Australia) 20 years ago after two years studying a Commerce degree. I have no regrets although the finance job I commenced 16 years ago now requires a degree.

Good luck with whatever you choose to do.