Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

12 steppers... please lend me your ears and your HP

I was in a 12 step program...

I quit because I cannot get my head around the God thing. I did so much reading(mostly Kevin griffin) I studied I translated,I talked to people but eventually I realized that although they say you can have a god of your understanding, that god has to be a benevolent force outside of yourself that is in control of your life and will take away your illness. I wanted Buddha, dharma and sangha to be my higher power. but it doesn't work. everyone says things like your over complicating things and just believe/act as if but they don't respect the fact that i don't have an external HP. even if i decide that my higher power is the rules that govern life (dharma) awareness(buddha) and love (sangha) it doesn't link into what other people say at meetings or what my sponsor says. its frustrating that they say you can have your own god but only as long as its fits the exact pattern of everyone else's.

I feel cheated. I am a spiritual person. I have a Higher power. I need help and I cant get it.

Sorry about the rant.

Grace

Comments

• RodrigoRodrigo São Paulo, Brazil Veteran
    Seems a tough situation, it must be very frustrating. Most people can't recognize when they need help and you do, which is the most difficult part of the procceess. I don't know what you could do, though. Probably the good people from NB will come up with ideas.
  • You could try a different meeting, somewhere else I mean.