Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The Eight Precepts

BunksBunks Australia Veteran
I have decided to take the eight precepts tomorrow for the first time. It doesn't fall on an Uposatha day I know but my family is away for a bit so it suits me.

http://www.accesstoinsight.org/ptf/dhamma/sila/atthasila.html

Question - are Theravadan monks able to have anything other then water after noon?

Wish me luck.........
cazThailandTomBrianInvincible_summerZenBadger

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    All the best to you.
    Bunks
  • Bravo.

Good luck :clap:
    Bunks
  • BhikkhuJayasaraBhikkhuJayasara Bhikkhu Veteran
    edited January 2013
    Bunks said:

I have decided to take the eight precepts tomorrow for the first time. It doesn't fall on an Uposatha day I know but my family is away for a bit so it suits me.

Question - are Theravadan monks able to have anything other then water after noon?

Wish me luck.........

near on anything liquid is fine ... there may be an issue when you get into milk and such but I'm pretty sure even that is fine. At Bhavana Society we often have tea and such after noon which is perfectly allowed. Im not much of a tea drinker so I usually have some ovaltine or nesquick hot chocolate/chocolate water :P

the monks have also shared little chocolate candies in the past, but it's fairly rare. Here is a link to the monks rules if your interested

http://www.accesstoinsight.org/lib/authors/thanissaro/bmc1/bmc1.intro.html

37. Should any bhikkhu chew or consume staple or non-staple food at the wrong time, it is to be confessed.