Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Background Dis-ease....

MeisterBobMeisterBob Mindful AgnathiestCT , USA Veteran
edited June 2014 in Buddhism Basics

Seems quite often I sense a subtle feeling of dis-ease. Somethings not quite right. If I look there's something I'm concerned with. The things that are never finished. At times I'm able to" let go" of it better than others. The "things will never be done until I'm done. If I died my agenda would die with me. .... I can see where living simply as possible would reduce the "unfinished" busy-ness. The things? - you know- the to do list that's never finished. I'm a mechanic by trade and fix everything and anything by nature. "Blessing " and curse. ..always fixing my little world lol! So I guess how do you work with day to day stuff in the relatively "real" world? More mindfulness? More formal meds? I try to plan not project but the subtleness is there. .... The subcouncious knows....Bob

Edit: I'm thinking cultivating samadhi , concentration would help.

Comments

• anatamananataman Who needs a title? Where am I? Veteran

It brings to mind the advice that the buddha gave to a woman who wanted a practice, but had so many things to do (sorry can't remember exact quote or where I read it, it might have been in the Tibetan Book of Living and Dying by Sogyal Rinpoche), but it goes something like this:

**Watch your hands as you are drawing water from the well, and then you will find yourself in that natural state that is meditation...*