Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is enlightenment life itself?

2»

Comments

• BuddhadragonBuddhadragon Ehipassiko & Carpe Diem Samsara Veteran

@Cinorjer said:
    What else is there but life?

And what is exactly life, if but an ever-changing combination of physical phenomena and mental processes?

Cinorjer
  • misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited January 2015

@Cinorjer said:
    @misecmisc1 I will respond by asking you (and whomever else wants to respond) a few questions to ponder and answer from the koan. I think pondering these three points might help more than an analysis of yet another display of Suchness:

What does Beyan mean by the "Great Matter" that Dongshan is asked if he understands or not?

What is a "turning word"? Beyan said he was unsatisfied with the one Dongshan gave him the day before. What was the turning word that proved unsatisfying for Beyan?

There is no detail in a koan that is meaningless. Why does the koan point out that Dongshan flapped his sleeves?

Sir, if I try to answer your above questions on this koan, then I have cheated in this koan because I heard a commentary on this case, so I got the answer of the first question in the talk - but your second and third questions were not discussed fully in it.