Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Whats a new vegan to do with old leather?

edited December 2009 in Buddhism Basics
Greetings.

I am fairly new to Buddhism. I converted to the philosophy about a year ago without any true commitment to a lifestyle change. I am now a bit more ready to make a lifestyle change, so I've decided I would like to stop eating meat (with a plan to go vegan) and exploiting animals for products that I use.

I am curious to know what is appropriate to do with leather products I already own, and animal products such as tallow-based soaps and such.

In one sense, I see that using these products is not congruent with the lifestyle change I'm trying to make. In another sense it might be considered wasteful to throw them away.

I plan on selling some of this stuff as it would prevent people who would buy it anyway from purchasing the new stuff.

Has anyone faced this problem before? How should I deal with this?

I have some leather goods; belts, steel-toed boots... that I plan on keeping and replacing with cruelty-free products when I am able.

I also have some old-world shaving stuff that I use, like badger hair brushes. I have a synthetic brush on the way to me in the mail. I'm just wondering what you guys would do with this sort of stuff?

Any advice is appreciated. :)

Comments

• edited December 2009
    You could always donate them to charity.
  • StaticToyboxStaticToybox Veteran
    edited December 2009
    Continue to use the stuff you already have. Disposing of it isn't going to undo the animal's suffering.
    mithril
  • hsrihphsrihp New
    edited December 2009
    Takeahnase wrote: »