Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I am a Buddhist-My wife is not

TheswingisyellowTheswingisyellow Trying to be open to existenceSamsara Veteran
edited April 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Hello all this is my first post here. Let me start by saying thank you for taking the time to read my question and offer any insight one may have. Let me tell you about myself and my Path. I am a registered nurse who works in hte ER, I am married for 18 years to the same wonderful woman and have to young sons ages 4 and 6. As far as my path I started reading about Buddhism in 1998. Read much theory and had a few fits and starts of trying to practice, but stopped. Last year in October I started looking at Buddhism again and it struck me differently. I let go of the idea of trying to attain anything (enlightenment, Samadi,ect...) and just meditated because it felt right. I also started reading some of my old books and my appreation and understanding was different and deeper. It seemed to come easier and make a lot of sense. If I follow any lineage per se it would be Zen, Mahayana and Tibetian. I am not part of a Sanga, though I would like to be but know of none near me. The insights I have attained in my Path have created a tremendous sense of joy, calm, compassion and love in me that is difficult to put into words. My appreciation for my life, my family and my work has increased exponentially. The thing that amazes me is it's not work, I am not trying to be something, it just flows naturally much to my joy. The difficulty that has arisen is my wife seems to have some difficulty with it. She seems to like the Buddhism without the Buddhism.