Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is there a place for astrology in Buddhism?

Does the use of astrology to predict events and assign human characteristcs run counter to Buddhist teachings on acceptance and nature of mind? Once I was very into astrology, but now I'm thinking it's a bit of an out, wanting to know what the future holds and slotting people into pigeon holes.

Comments

• I think it depends how it is done. I studied in an aol chat with a leader, great guy, who also studied astrology. I guess it depends how your astrology hobby is affecting you. I think monks aren't allowed to charge money for astrology, but I don't see why not for a lay person.
  • BhanteLuckyBhanteLucky Alternative lifestyle person in the South Island of New Zealand New Zealand Veteran
    the Buddha forbids fortune telling by monks, but some do it publicly anyway, especially in Thailand and Burma.
    I don't know about the guidelines for laypeople though.
  • karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator