Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

A newbie's questions

I'm a beginner, so please be gentle.

Just to introduce myself, I'm a single mum of a teenage son and a daughter at uni, living with the financial and emotional fallout of a very messy and unpleasant divorce. I lost my dad a few years ago, and my mum is confused and living in a nursing home. I'm getting to the age when my body is starting to let me down in places, and one of my best friends has recently been diagnosed with a terminal disease. So when I discovered the Buddhist teachings on suffering and impermanence they made a lot of sense to me.

As far as practice goes, besides trying to get up to speed with the ethical aspects, I'm meditating on the breath for ten minutes every morning. But I have to say I am absolutely useless at it. I suffer from anxiety a lot of the time, and between worrying about the future and nostalgic cravings for the past it is difficult to find any present space for me to be in! There are a lot of good things in my life (I have enough work, the children are doing well and I have a partner whom I love very much) but the knowledge of impermanence gets in the way. I half-expect it all to fall apart at any moment.

Anyway, some basic questions:

1) Do you think I should just carry on doing breathing meditation and keep it simple? Is this lack of progress normal? How will I know when I am progressing?