Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

falling off the path

chanrattchanratt Veteran
edited March 2011 in Buddhism Basics
I do this a lot with many things that I do. I start of all enthusiastic about a new hobby, discovery, musical instrument, whatever,then, after a matter of months, I get bored. I guess I started practicing Zazen almost a year ago. I started going to the local Zen center, read a ton of books, meditated for about 23-30 a day, and I really felt great. Then I got distracted with after thing or another and I don't visit the Center anymore, don't read anymore, don't listen to talks and I would rather sit for 3 hours playing WOW and drinking beers than practicing Buddhism. I mean it's instant and it's fun, right?

I know I've noticed this pattern with myself all my life, with the guitar, writing, the gym, anything, but I thought that if I meditated and practiced, this part of my ego that is always hopping from one thing to the next, would get weakened and I would feel more steady and at peace. I'm quite disappointed with myself right now. I was taking sewing classes to sew a rakusu so I could take the precepts in July. Now i'm more interested in getting buzzed and leveling my Druid.

I guess I know what I have to do and what you'll all tell me...just try harder....I just thought that I wouldn't have to battle my old habits as much as I am and that this newfound spirituality would feel so good that I wouldn't need any more outside entertainment and distraction. Anyone else here got off the path so dramatically and found it this hard to get back on?

Comments

• genkakugenkaku Northampton, Mass. U.S.A. Veteran