Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

giving up on kundalini/tantra

VincenziVincenzi Veteran
edited June 2011 in Philosophy
the first type of meditation I practiced was yogic, and some years after practicing Buddhism I started practicing some kundalini meditation.

now, my conclusion is that the kundalini and tantric approach to meditation (and as a method for advancing towards Nirvana) is more dangerous than it is worth it. the type of energetical and pyschic (mental) activity that this approach fires up is too much to control in a nice and calm way.

creativity may be enhanced, and some realisations may occur... but all this progress happens in an up and down (bumpy) road.

Comments

• I had a tantra/yoga teacher who would say some of the most efficient ways to build up your kundalini towards enlightenment was to not eat meat and to not ejaculate if you're a man. So from that moment on I decided it wasn't worth it lol.
  • WhoknowsWhoknows Australia Veteran
    Hi @Vincenzi,

If you had a teacher you could discuss with him/her. I don't think Tantrayana is suitable for one without a teacher, do you have one? Besides you're just finding out that no matter how powerful the meditation, it is still in the realm of samsara. What goes up must come down. Maybe a back to basics approach may help? Cause and effect, helping others = beneficial results, using ethics and concentration to support wisdom and vice versa, etc. Do you read and study much, that helps immensely?

Cheers, WK