Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation and "thinking"

pauliwagopauliwago Explorer
edited June 2011 in Meditation
Hey guys,
Is there a meditative practice that allows for "thinking"? What I mean by that is when you have a decision or event that needs contemplating, would thinking about them while meditating be counterproductive? I'm new to meditation, and everything I've heard about so far seems to revolve around clearing the mind (please correct me if I'm wrong!)

Comments

• taiyakitaiyaki Veteran
    i believe that is called contemplation. contemplation can be done via meditation. the point is the be really mindful of your thoughts so you can get straight to the point and even process new creative solutions to the challenge at hand.

you don't even need to meditate really. the best way to contemplate is with a pen and paper. writing helps solidify our thinking process and takes away the monkey mind in that we actually write it down and then from there we don't have to think about the same thought over and over and over again.

also meditation isn't about getting to some kind of no-mind. it's about allowing everything to be as it is. if thoughts arises, just watch them and they go away. same with emotions and bodily sensations.

when i meditate i get a lot of interesting thoughts that relate to ideas that i was working with throughout the day. meditation does allow for creative solutions to manifest. it gives space and acceptance, thus you can see how ideas manifest so easily.

but that is just another perk/fruit of meditation. the real goal is to realize your true nature and how reality functions.