Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The Illusion of the "Self"

Hello

I'm a beginner in parcticing Buddhism, and one of the most difficult concepts for me to accept, intellectually, is the so called illusion of self.

Decartes showed that if there's one thing we can know with metaphysical certainty is that the "I" exist. You can investigate what's real and what's not in your mind, and while doing so doubt perhaps the existence of almost everything, but the fact that someone is conducting this investigation can't be denied. The fact that I have awerness can't be denied by myself. And how could there be subjectivity without a subject? And yet it seems that buddhism denies the existense of the subject (the "I", the "soul" as a driver of the human machine), while maintaing subjectevity (the mind), and that's literaly mind blowing for me.