Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Was told that eastern philosophy was sacreligious?

I'm fairly new to Buddhism. It's been a year since I've learned some of the basic concepts and haven't been too devoted until now. I was born and raised Christian. Didn't go to church, but my Mom was an extreme devout Christian. The only factor I ever really cared about with Christianity was the hard truth that one will either go to Heaven or Hell. As I started breaking away (after about 5 years of being practically agnostic) and exploring Buddhism I found great comfort in the whole idea of rebirth and not following a judgmental Lord who will damn you to Hell for eternity if refusal to believe.

It wasn't until recently that my Uncle (licensed Minister) began telling me obsessively about "The Revelations" & the "End times" that we're in in which God will come down to Earth. We were on the topic of The Occult and Satan worshippers and how they will burn in the "lake of fire." THAT, I could easily understand, possibly, but then he started talking about other religions that are doomed to hell. He began speaking of "Hindu, Muslims, and Buddhists" and how when it comes time, they will all burn in hell as well. This frustrated me because I thought most religions (non extremist religions) sort of followed the old saying "to each his own." I asked him the reason, and he stated that "God created this Earth and these Hindus and Buddhists triedtIo dismiss that and invent their own religion, and that's Satan inside of all of them tricking them."