Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What were Buddha's views regarding how to properly use time?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited November 2011 in Buddhism Basics
Hi All,

As per Buddhist scriptures, if somebody has read those, please let me know what were Gautam Buddha's views regarding how to properly use time.

Comments

• genkakugenkaku Northampton, Mass. U.S.A. Veteran
    I don't know what the 'scriptures' may say, but I imagine that anyone who takes up a Buddhist practice will have his or her ordinary view of 'time' seriously challenged and revised.

My view: Time is a comfort and a convenience. The thing that matters is what you do ... not what time it is when you do it.
  • i'm not sure what the buddha said specifically, but in my humble opinion we have very little time.

we are going to die this is a fact. life is short. so i am sure the buddha would urge us to use this human birth to its fullest potential by practicing and realizing the dharma.

this is not to run away from life, but rather to learn to live in relationship towards life and find the happiness from all conditions.

in the face of death all seems little. what matters most to us all? time is short! so that reality will force us to really examine what is important in our lives and what we need to work on.

• In Buddhism the "proper use of time" is the clear intention to use one's time and energy no more and no less than:
    for the benefit of all sentient beings.
    a group in which oneself is also, of course, included.
  • jlljll Veteran