Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Name my blog!

edited November 2011 in General Banter
Hi Everyone,
I have a degree in politics, and have been studying the Dharma for about 4 years, so I thought of writing a political blog with a Buddhist slant on it. My motivation is to find a forum to rant about various issues I come across in the media, where I feel the full story has not been told.

For instance, I saw a documentary about the treatment of mentally handicapped children in Romania, which I felt gave the impression that Romanians were callous and cruel in their attitudes to children. But it did not even mention the legacy of Ceaucescu's regime of terror, which effectively forced women to have more children than they could cope with, and then housed the results of these policies in horrible, state-run 'orphanages'. I felt strongly that we need to look beyond the media's black and white portrayal of evil and good people, and try to understand what happened to people to bring them to where they are. There is a history we need to understand if we are to make sense of it, and if we are to develop compassion.

I don't want to start a discussion about Romania, I was just using that as an example: I'd rather expand on this example in my blog. But this is my plan: to look at situations in the media and try to look behind the surface, to what is happening underneath, the background and history to the situation.