Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Hello from someone interested in Buddhism

edited December 2011 in Buddhism Basics
Hello all,

I'm new to Buddhism and while I wouldn't consider myself a Buddhist quite yet, I'm certainly interested in learning more about it.

First a little back story. I was raised Christian. Growing up, I always questioned what was being taught. I remember in 4th grade asking my Sunday School teacher, "How do we know we're right.." Well, that didn't go over too well.

When I turned 18, I also left the church and for the past 12 years have considered myself agnostic or atheist. One reason is I'm a full believer in Science.

About a month ago I started meditating. I've always had trouble concentrating at school/work, and have had conversations with people or read a chapter in a book without knowing what was said or what I read. This lead me to Buddhism. I starting reading about it and realized how much it fit within my belief system.

So where do I go from here? I read that finding a teacher is the best practice. Unfortunately, I'm 4 hours away from the nearest center so for right now, that's out of the question. Any good books I could read? Any advice from any of you?

Lastly, I curious on your views on reincarnation or possible a good reading on the subject. Like I said, I've been atheist for the past decade and find it hard to believe that reincarnation could exist, especially since I don't believe in a "god" or "creator." I realize that not all Buddhist believe in reincarnation, but I'm still curious in everyone's point of view, as I try to form my own.