Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Neck pain during/after seated meditation

weightedweighted Veteran
edited January 2012 in Meditation
Greetings all. I'm new here, and this is my first post!

I'm fairly new to Buddhism and my practice, including meditation. I use a zafu but I almost always - after a 20 or 30 minute seated meditation session - experience pain in the back of my neck. I suppose my neck must droop or the chin tucks in without my realizing it. This can be especially troublesome as I sometimes feel conscious of the pain beginning, and then shift my neck and lose focus on the breath.

I've read that some physical discomfort when beginning meditation is normal, as our bodies aren't used to being still for long periods of time.

Do you think that's the case here, or does anyone have any recommendations for reducing neck pain during seated meditation?

Comments

• ZeroZero Veteran
    Maintaining good posture is good - you should try to practice this even when not meditating - if you have bad posture daily, your muscles may already be under strain which is compunded (or manifests) when you sit still...

Flexibility is also good - something like yoga or regular stretches can help.