Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation advice?

edited May 2012 in Meditation
Hello. When I sit in half lotus my legs fall asleep after a few minutes (like most people),
This doesn't distract from my meditating, but is it for my legs?

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited May 2012
    don't worry, your legs are not meditating :lol:
  • Invincible_summerInvincible_summer Heavy Metal Dhamma We(s)t coast, Canada Veteran
    You don't have to sit in any lotus position if you don't want to.

I find Burmese to be the most comfortable for me (mostly because I can't even do half- or full-lotus), never had issues with legs falling asleep.

Or are you asking if it's bad for your circulation or something...?
  • Dear @chenjir

This site has some different postures which you could review for your meditations:

http://mro.org/zmm/teachings/meditation.php

Thankyou for practicing.

Namaste.

Abu
  • ethereaetherea Veteran
    Your legs will become accustomed to the position given time.
  • personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran
    Its really only important that your back is straight and relaxed. If you have a cushion or a chair this is easy to accomplish without having to put your legs in any special position. So it may work out better for you to find a position for your legs where they don't fall asleep.

Here's some good info on posture

http://www.wildmind.org/posture
  • snGussnGus Veteran