Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I'm am new and have questions

edited November 2005 in Buddhism Basics
Hi,
I hope it works this time :o
I been studying buddhism from books and etc. But haven't take the next step of going to a temple or such.
There is a buddhist monk on staff at my work as part of spiritual staff for the hospital.
But I lack the courage to speak to him for fear of saying or doing the wrong thing.
You see I'm a hard-of-hearing person and some voices I am not able to hear plus for some people I'm hard to understand when I talk.
But would it be alright to say I'm studying Buddhism and would like to learn more about it be see if I wanted to be part of a way of life.
I would be most thankful for any help you can give to me.

Comments

• BrianBrian Detroit, MI Moderator
    edited May 2005
    You'll find that, because of the nature of buddhism, monks are generally very easygoing. They want to help you and they will work hard to alleviate any discomfort you may have. I think speaking to the monk would be a great idea. And to say you are interested in studying buddhism is the perfect approach.

You also have us :) We can help you with anything you need. Welcome to our community! :D
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited May 2005
    Welcome dee60! I too have a hearing problem; it's in my left ear, it's due to a serious infection I had as a young woman, and it appears to be slowly degenerative, so I can truly sympathise!