Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Bit confused

Wisdom23Wisdom23 Veteran
edited October 2012 in Buddhism Basics
How do you all understand the concept of non craving to be ? and how do you go about non craving ?

Comments

• Firstly I studied the 4NTs, and then the 12 links. Then have come to observe life from time to time, watch as craving arises and how it passes, how it causes suffering and how it is all a mental construct. To be totally free of craving is quite an accomplishment and of course I have not gotten there myself. Practice makes perfect, but going back to the 4NTs you need to understand suffering and how it comes into being and ceases to actually do this. Hope this helps in some way.
    JeffreyGentleJanet
  • JasonJason God Emperor Arrakis Moderator
    edited October 2012
    Wisdom23 said:

How do you all understand the concept of non craving to be ? and how do you go about non craving ?

The second noble truth states that the origination of suffering is "the craving that makes for further becoming — accompanied by passion & delight, relishing now here & now there — i.e., craving for sensual pleasure, craving for becoming, craving for non-becoming" (SN 56.11). Thanissaro Bhikkhu explains it this way in Wings to Awakening: