Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation with incense

Does anyone burn incense before or during meditation? If so what cent? I've never tried this before but may go pick a few up tomorrow :p

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited November 2012
    I think it is good. Not too distracting but putting the mind in an enjoying space. Personally I use an aroma lamp because it is less smokey. I like orange bud, rosemary, spruce, peppermint, and cajeput. I moved the aroma lamp away from where I meditate but I still burn an unscented candle for inspiration of bringing light into the world.
    BeyondPrair
  • I'll have to check for those cents! I have been told that the smoke can become distracting
  • Sandalwood is good for concentration. Personally I like frankincese. Some of the Tibetan incenses have reputed healing properties. Japanese incense is very light and recommended.
    BeyondPrair
  • JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited November 2012
    Try getting an aroma lamp. They can be lit by tealight candles or electric. The latter are safer. The aromas (bottles) last a long time.
    BeyondPrair
  • An aroma lamp or oil burner is a good choice. If possible get good quality pure oils, many of which have particular qualities, for example opening the airways, cleansing, healing, mood lifting etc.
  • How much do aroma lamps run for? Where can I buy one?
  • JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited November 2012
    Online or else I bought mine at the mall at a sort of 'teen underground/alternative store'.