Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

A sick society

13»

Comments

• karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator
    Just so it's clear, I wasn't saying my job is "better" than hers in any way whatsoever. It was just a (probably bad) example of what we tend to view as more worth in society as a whole. I'm not a lawyer because I didn't want to be a lawyer, and I'd probably have been a bad one given my hatred of public speaking, lol. And I didn't mean to sound as if a woman (or man) can't be both a breadwinner and a good parent. My classmate is a good mom and she loves her kids very much, and as a person I like her very much. She is simply seen by many as successful while I am not and I think that plays very much into the sickness of society down to it's core.
    Beej
  • vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran
    First, @TheBeejAbides, when something is not understood, it is just as often the problem of the speaker as it is the listener.

But, more importantly, it seems as if you want to lump together entrepreneurs as all being the cause of a sick society. To begin with, I don't even agree that the society is sick. But, beyond that, it's rarely meaningful to lump any group of people together. What do we say about people who lump groups of people together by race? Or nationality? Or poor people? Or the uneducated? It's no more right to lump rich people or entrepreneurs together.