Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The 5 precepts

2»

Comments

• CittaCitta Veteran
    edited December 2012
    Jeffrey said:

Thanks for the info Citta. From a historical perspective Nagarjuna was also a major reformer of ethics in addition to his ideas which influenced all of Tibetan Buddhism. So historically it would be normal to feel attraction to vows and so forth. But I guess not all sanghas concern themselves. Are you from a nyingma or gelukpa tradition?

Neither Jeffrey..my first Vajrayana teacher was Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche, who was a .Karma Kagyu teacher.
    I am now a Dzogchen student in the Dzogchen Community of Namkhai Norbu Rinpoche. Among my fellow students are a Theravadin abbot..Ajahn Amaro,Abbot of Amaravati Monastery who I assume lives by the Bhikkhu samaya ..a well known Sufi teacher , and a number of Catholic monks and Nuns who were not required to take Refuge or follow Buddhist precepts.
    Chogyal Namkhai Norbus view is that Buddhism is a perfectly good vehicle for Dzogchen, but is not essential.
  • DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
    vinlyn said:

And since we're being so honest here, I personally think that the reason that quite a few people minimize the Precepts -- or in some cases certain Precepts -- is because some people just want to do what they enjoy doing (e.g., DON'T EAT A HAMBURGER, but let's go down to Hop's Bar).

I think you're right, that's why debates on meat-eating, fishing, alchohol, etc can get so heated. We get very attached to certain behaviours and don't want to give them up, so we get defensive and start rationalising.

• DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran