Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Baby's First Sutta

I've had a little nose around on Access to Insight and read a couple of suttas, but I've been advised that as a beginner I shouldn't try to tackle some of the more 'advanced' ones yet. Where would be a good place to start out? Is there a list of recommended beginner material?

As an aside - why is it that the suttas contain a lot of repetition? When there is a set of things, they are dealt with in an almost identical way, with only one or two words changed each time.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    Repetition is because suttas were once memorised... therefore, in the original language, they had almost a musical poetic rhythm to them... you know how easy it is to memorise pop songs, but doing homework and 'getting it' sucks!!?

My dad always used to say:

If you studied as well as you watched television, you'd be a genius!"
    I replied,
    "If they taught subjects in the same way - we would all be geniuses!"

I think it's fine to tackle the advanced ones when you feel capable.
    If you read something and you begin to think, "What the....? " :scratch: then just leave it aside. Eventually, through practice, you will find that returning to something which previously confused you, will now leave you :thumbsup: !!

Just take it easy.
    It's not a race, competition or trial. There's no time-limit or obligation.

Enjoy.
    meh_Sabre
  • SabreSabre Veteran
    Hey! Nice title ;)