Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Non dual

EarthninjaEarthninja WandererWest Australia Veteran

Hi guys!

I'm really new to Buddhism so I would love to hear about your opinions/experiences!

Today while meditating I was listening to the birds chirping. I then let go of the idea of birds and suddenly all I could hear was chirping sounds neither outside or inside me. Just chirping in "space" no distance no birds. Weird experience.

I then walked outside and looked around my back yard and felt as if I was in a dream - by dream I mean everything I could see and hear was on this same space. Like I was a movie?? I tried feeling the same way but the ground tends to feel separate from me.

Then I went to work and experience over. I feel that when I meditate again this experience will arise again. Particularly with sounds and sights.

Is this what they mean by non duality? It's not a waking reality for me yet. Or is this a mental formation?

That's so much guys

Comments

• CittaCitta Veteran

Well I don't know you...

It might be a non dual state.

If so it is not it that arises.

It is always already the case...

It is you that arises..

Earthninjaanatamanpommesetoranges
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

Don't expect any repetition in experiences. They will never be the same, even if similar.... Meditation isn't about having specific experiences. It's about seeing them, and letting them go...

• EarthninjaEarthninja Wanderer West Australia Veteran

@Citta said:
    Well I don't know you...