Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Relational Buddhism: Thread 2

Hi, folks,

During my lunch hour I came across this quote, which I found inspiring, and wanted to share. I'm new at this, so if this should go on another thread somewhere, enlighten me. It's from a Nichiren Shu priest and talks about the Mahayana, but I think the sentiments would relate to all Buddhists:

"The Lotus Sutra teaches that “Only a Buddha together with a Buddha can know the True Reality of All Existence.” This is because Mahayana Buddhism does not recognize any enlightenment that can be enjoyed alone as authentic. The True Dharma is not about saving “oneself”, it is about discovering that life is actually dynamically relational with no place for the boundaries of self and other. Enlightenment, therefore, is about letting go of the self and opening ourselves up to the empty and marvelous true nature of things. When that happens, even slightly, we begin to realize that the true aim of our lives is an inherently shared experience. It is this which is expressed and celebrated whenever we assert our true natures and reenact the Ceremony in the Air for the benefit of ourselves and all beings during the Sunday service and at all other times when we gather together and uphold Namu Myoho Renge Kyo."

As some of you might guess, I particularly like the phrase "... we begin to realize that the true aim of our lives is an inherently shared experience."

W/gassho to all,

Eugene

ChazanatamanToraldris

Comments