Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Trying to understand Heart Sutra

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited February 2015 in General Banter

Hi All,
After theoretically reading the commentaries on Heart Sutra from different locations, i got the below theoretical understanding, so thought of sharing with you all, may be you can explain this sutra in more detail to me.

Heart Sutra says - Form is emptiness, emptiness is form.

So taking the first part of it, Form is emptiness means form is empty of an independent entity in itself. So things are empty of their thingness, for example, chair is empty of chairness etc.

Taking the second part, which i think is more complex - emptiness is form means - emptiness of an entity is form - means emptiness of an entity in a thing is form - in a way if we are determining the emptiness of a thing, then this idea in itself needs that thing for this determination to start - so emptiness of an entity in a form needs form to begin with.