Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Living in the now

As a student, I find it very difficult to live in the now, with papers, exams, and readings. Often times I plan out my schedule a week in advance. I imagine that having a job is not very different; there are always deadlines that need to be met. How can we live in the present when society keeps us focused on the future?

Comments

• karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator

Living in the present doesn't mean not planning for the future. Our lives require it. It means when you are planning your week out, you sit down and you put your all into doing that. You try not to let your mind stray to the test you took yesterday or that you have to do something else later. You focus on the task at hand...including planning for the future.

Rodrigorobotvinlynupekka
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

Yes, if I may elaborate, to expand upon @karasti's post, being in the 'Now' means being fully mindful, in the moment, of whatever it is you're doing. So if you're filling out a form, just fill out the form.
    if you're drawing a house in a field, just draw the house in the field.

Try not to add commentary, for example if you're drawing said house, in said field, don't start thinking, "shall I draw a fence? maybe I could add a round window... should the chimney be smoking....?" Just draw, and observe yourself drawing. Concentrate of movement of pencil on paper....

Whatever you're doing, focus on doing it, tho the exclusion of mental chatter.