Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Vajrayana Tonglen

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited June 2015 in General Banter

hi all,

good morning to all of you.

does anyone of you practice vajrayana tonglen?

The below video url i had downloaded nearly an year back or may be 2 years back and i heard it at that time.
http://www.dharmaocean.org/episode-16-vajrayana-tonglen/

but day before yesterday, i tried for a guided meditation on tonglen from a different url, so yesterday a thought came to me to listen again to the above audio talk on my laptop. so i listened it again yesterday. there is one main statement in that talk, which is something like, if i remember it correctly, is something like - which ever person turns up in our life in any definitive way, they are aspects of ourselves, which are coming to meet us and help us complete ourselves and same is true with those other persons too. also it says something like - we should welcome those attributes, which we do not consider nice, to balance our ego. so what does this mean exactly - if suppose a person has become calm, then if he meets an angry person, should that calm person welcome anger in him, in order to eradicate the ego inside him which would be saying to him that he is a calm person - but this does not seem to make much sense? so most probably i have misunderstood what is being said in the above audio talk. So can somebody please correct my understanding and help me by explaining what is done in vajrayana tonglen? Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran