Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Aghori sadhus

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited August 2015 in General Banter

hi all,

on internet, i saw this small video https://youtube.com/watch?v=GEpJdHS1pV0 on Aghori sadhus. may be you all know about Aghori sadhus, but if not, then it may be interesting for you all to know about them.

one thing which i like about in it is - no discrimination between clean and unclean - may be this might be similar to the teaching on no like and no dislike.

lobster

Comments

• lobsterlobster Veteran
    edited August 2015

Tee Hee,

The aghori are my favourite sadhus. Some of the practices are still found in Tantric Buddhism and spending time with dead and decaying bodies is still done by some Sangha monastics. These practices are extreme and can not be performed without supervision as they can be very dangerous to ones mental well being. In one sense aghori are crazy. In another they are an extreme path of breaking through. Animal sacrifice, cannabalism, intoxication and other extreme behavour is certainly not the simplest way. In many parts of the world it is illegal and very naughty anyhow ...
    http://articles.theflowerraj.org/india/indian-culture/article_1.html

Tsk, tsk, seduced by the Dark Side of the Force you are @misecmisc1?
    http://www.berzinarchives.com/web/en/archives/approaching_buddhism/teachers/tsenzhab_serkong_rinpoche/a_portrait_of_tsenzhab_serkong_rinpoche/part_2.html