Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

four frame of reference

what do you know about four kind of mindfulness?


    1. Body contemplation - understanding its nature
    2. Contemplating feeling - how it arises
    3. Contemplating mind - freed from desire, aversion, confusion, drowsiness, restlessness or doubt
    4. Contemplating the teachings - 4NT, 3 characteristics, self enquiry, factors of enlightenment
  • BuddhadragonBuddhadragon Ehipassiko & Carpe Diem Samsara Veteran

    Four Foundations of Mindfulness or Sattipathana Sutta.

    The Buddha presented the Mahasatipatthana Sutta in the following terms:

    "Bikkhus, this is the direct path for the purification of all beings, for the overcoming of sorrow & lamentation, for the elimination of dukkha & grief, for the attainment of the right method, & for the realization of Nibbana — namely, the four frames of reference."

  • DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran

    I think it is about paying close attention to various aspects of experience, and gradually developing insight into the nature of that experience. The four frames of reference or foundations of mindfulness are a useful framework.
    I work mostly with the sense bases, which is one of the methods of investigation in the fourth frame.

  • JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter Netherlands Veteran

    Four foundations of mindfulness describes it quite well, these are areas where one can bring awareness to develop mindfulness of certain things. Developing mindfulness to such an extent that one is mindful simultaneously of several different areas is quite challenging.

  • namarupanamarupa Veteran
    edited December 2016

    With the cessation of clinging comes the cessation of the entire mass of suffering.

    Mindfulness of body, feelings, mind, and mental qualities, focusing on those objects "in and of themselves", separating the "self" from those things, can lead to noticing impermanence, stress, and anatta in those things.

    Noticing the three characteristics, can lead to dispassion and disenchantment, from dispassion to release (letting go), from release to cessation, and from cessation to freedom.

    Dispassion and disenchantment (nibbida) is not easily reached, but keeping virtues, meditation, and clear knowledge and vission will help lead the way.

Sign In or Register to comment.