Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Need Advice!

edited June 2005 in Buddhism Basics
Hi everyone! I am very new to this site, but after reading a few forums I thought that this was a great place with supportive people.
I am also new to Buddhism, I am learning about it and am just starting meditation. My next step is going to the temple and meeting with a meditation instructor so that they can help me answer any questions. The problem is that I am really nervous to take that step. I don't really know why, except that I get butterflies in my stomach and sweaty palms even thinking about it. I have tried once and didn't make it inside. I think that I am scared that the people there might judge me or think I am really dumb because of how little I know. Plus, it is a very small community and I am going to be this outsider that no one knows.
I am aware of how dumb this all sounds, but if anyone has any advice I would really appreciate it!
Thanks

~ Andrea :sadc:

Comments

• JasonJason God Emperor Arrakis Moderator
    edited June 2005
    Hello and welcome. My advice to you: take some deep breaths, try not to be so afraid, and just go for it. I drove by the temple that I first went to at least five times. I was sooo scared. But they were very friendly and understood it was my first time when I finally managed to go in. Don't let your fear get the best of you.
  • comicallyinsanecomicallyinsane Veteran
    edited June 2005
    I read things like this and I am having a hard time undestanding why it's so hard.
  • BrianBrian Detroit, MI Moderator
    edited June 2005