Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I have some questions. Need help.

edited February 2009 in Buddhism Basics
I'm definitely new, in fact I haven't really even started anything yet. Two days ago was the first time I really looked into Buddhism at all. Basically what I need is a change and I could never get behind religions. Buddhism doesn't seem to me like so much of a religion as it is a helpful way to live life. I want that. Even if I don't reach enlightenment in my lifetime, the quality of life even being on that path seems something worth striving for. I have been meditating for a few months, but I'm not really getting where I want to get. I'm having a few problems with addictions, mostly like cigarettes and sex. I've been off of drugs for two years, and I haven't drank in a few weeks, which I don't crave it even after months, so it's not an addiction yet. I have a huge problem with guilt. That's probably my largest problem, as it brings anger and things with it. I'm guilty for all the addictions and the things I've done and it gives me anxiety and makes me angry at people, for example, I used to hide drugs and liquor all around the house and people that didn't know I had a problem would get too close and get their heads bitten off for seemingly no reason. Now I don't hide those things and the house is clean, I still get like that around those ex hiding spots. I need some help.

Comments

• edited January 2009
    Just to get this out of the way also, the nearest temple or place where people are taught and teach Buddhism is an hour and a half away, so it's not practical to be there very much.