Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Why use pseudonyms?

RichardHRichardH Veteran
edited January 2010 in General Banter
I'm new to online forums and appreciate the sharing and learning I have found. The one thing I do not understand though is the use of pseudonyms, particularly on Buddhist sites. We are real people ( I'm talking in the conventional sense not the absolute....ok) with real lives, why not just be that? This isnt a judgment of those who choose anonymity, I just do not understand the reason.

Maybe some folks could explain the reason? Thank you:)

Comments

• edited October 2009
    Hi Richard, the internet is a weird as well as a wonderful place, and all kinds of people inhabit it, including stalkers, paedophiles ,etc etc

Buddhist group sites are still places which can be viewed by the public. As a single woman, I would feel far too vunerable if I used my real name.

Kind regards.

Dazzle
  • RichardHRichardH Veteran
    edited October 2009
    Hi Dazzle. Well , I certainly can't argue with that, and I respect you concerns, but I will debate the general principle. I am an artist and my face and name are all over the internet connected with various galleries and media. If anyone wants to find me it is a click away. I also know many single women artists who are equally exposed in public profile, Anyone can see this stuff, and although modern life has these concerns, they are not especially concerned. It seems different on these forums. Once again I respect your choice, especially on the count of genuine fear, but it seems there are also other reasons for other people....
  • RenGalskapRenGalskap Veteran